12 week midwife appointment

May 20, 2008 3mamasboys

I forgot to tell ya’ll about this, mainly because there’s nothing to tell.

I was SO nervous and excited for my first appointment.  Here’s what happened:

-I filled out paperwork on my medical history. 

-The midwife ordered the records from my first birth (the one in which I bled like a stuck pig afterwards.  This is the only exciting part of the appointment–I am ANXIOUS to get my hands on those hospital records!)

-I peed on a stick.  My pee is fine.

-I weighed myself, on her scale, which is a MEAN, MEAN scale and says I’ve gained a whopping FIFTEEN pounds since getting pregnant.  Luckily, she didn’t bat an eye at my weight gain.  Nor did she act surprised when I told her that I had gained 60-65lbs with the last three.  I’m pretty relieved about that.  The last thing I need is a weight-gain nazi.

All of this took about 15 minutes.  Then a woman in labor came in to the birthing center and the midwife had to leave. 

Seriously.  Am I getting charged for this?  Besides peeing on the stick, all of this could have been accomplished by mail.  I didn’t get to ask ANY questions.  You know, the vital stuff, like “How much am I going to have to pay you when this whole thing is over?” 

It totally reminded me of my OB.  She even has a little office with a waiting room and a receptionist behind a big desk and an exam table.  I hate it already. 

I’ll see her again at 16 weeks and maybe she’ll have time for me.  I certainly hope so, since I’ve decided to get poked and prodded and tested for HIV and the whole triple screen testing. 

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. itsnotmurray  |  May 20, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    wow. triple screen?

  • 2. 3mamasboys  |  May 20, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Yep. We are (surprisingly?) the type of people that would terminate a pregnancy if something was wrong. False positives are scary, but I just hope that further testing would bring accurate answers.

  • 3. Jess  |  May 20, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Well, that sucks! I thought the whole point of midwife appointments was the super cool interaction before the baby comes. I hope the next appointment is better!


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts