WHeezer

May 20, 2008 3mamasboys

So, after suffering from seasonal allergies  for the last few weeks, (which are WICKED this year, and are always worse when I’m pregnant) I woke up this morning WHEEZING.  It was 4AM and at first I thought my nose was whistling.  I went to the bathroom and blew like crazy, went back to bed and still, that goddamn squeaking sound.  I finally figured out the noise was coming from my mouth and then, I couldn’t go back to sleep. 

It got progressively worse throughout the day.  A mere walk down the hall to the bathroom made me short of breath.  I felt like I had ran a marathon, my heart racing wildly and all that.  Several times throughout the day I thought “ohmigod I’m going to die…I need an ambulance.”  Unfortunately, I had no one to take the kids, DH was stuck on the mainland as usual and I was so worried about how scared they would be with an ambulance rushing to our house. 

I somehow managed to get the kids in the car and run up to the grocery store where I huffed and puffed down the aisles and bought some Robuttusin for congestion.  It felt like my lungs were full of liquid that just couldn’t be coughed up.  I got home, took the maximum dose, and waited.  Nothing happened.  If anything, it got worse.

By this time, I’m crying hysterically and calling DH and hating the island because I have no fucking friends here whatsoever and thinking to myself “I want to go home!” (Even though I’m not even sure where ‘home’ IS for me anymore.) 

Finally, DH got home and we went straight to the ER, where I promptly received a breathing treatment.  It felt like heaven.  It’s amazing the little things you take for granted.  Like breathing, for instance. 

The doctors there believe I have allergy induced asthma and were shocked that I’ve never experienced an attack before.  I am now supposed to take an inhaler 4x a day and be on steroids for the next week.  I’m crazy worried about all of this medication while I’m pregnant (and not REALLY even out of the 1st trimester yet), but the doctor said that the wheezing is worse for the baby, as it cuts off oxygen flow to the placenta.  Did that make me feel better?  No.  Considering the fact that I went for 14 hours yesterday pulling and fighting for air.  I’m now crippled with this fear that I’ve done something terrible to my baby and it’s going to come out half brain dead. 

This pregnancy has been for the birds.

So much for “My Natural Pregnancy.”  Can I change my blog name now? LOL.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jess  |  May 20, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Oh honey!! I’m soooo sorry you had to go through this (are going through it).

    The baby will be FINE. Seriously. Go to the preeclampsia.org forums and look at the craploads of medication those women are on- and they go on to have healthy, smart little babies. Promise.

    I know it still feels like a lot. Everything is magnified when you are pregnant.

    Keep breathing, okay? 🙂


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts